YA Fiction | Book Review for Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Reviewed Book: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Book Description: Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

General Review (NO SPOILERS): 2.5/5 stars

To be honest, I was a little disappointed with this book. It is spoken so highly of, that my expectations were really high. They were far from met. The plot was cute, but the characters were not very relatable (to me, anyway), and a lot of the book was rather subpar. It was a relatively entertaining read, but not something that I would pick up again randomly.

Detailed Review (CONTAINS SPOILERS): As you may have noticed, this review is really late. I promised that it would go up a while ago, yet I never posted it. I hate saying some not so nice things about Morgan Matson, but I just didn’t love the book. Usually, I go into exploring the characters and their growth, but I feel no desire to do that here. They weren’t relatable (to me), they were moderately funny, and they were just bland to read about. The plot concept was cute, and there were definitely some great moments (I MEAN THEY SHARED A BED BEFORE THEY WERE TOGETHER WHAT KIND OF FANFICTION IS THIS LOL), but it was overall very lackluster. I’m sorry this review is so short, but I honestly cannot think of anything else to say.

One thought on “YA Fiction | Book Review for Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

  1. Anushka H. says:

    I really loved this book and I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like it as much 🙂 I really like the road-trip aspect of the novel. Anyway, hope you enjoy Matson’s other books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

