YA Fiction | Book Review for A Court Of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Reviewed Book: A Court Of Mist and Fury

Book Description: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

General Review (NO SPOILERS): 5/5 stars

A very compelling sequel to A Court Of Thorns and Roses. This book kept me on the edge of my seat as I twisted and turned through plot twist after plot twist. Secrets are revealed, and loyalties are tested. Who would’ve thought that my loyalties would change (if you follow me on tumblr this will make a lot more sense @throneofass)?

Detailed Review (SPOILERS): Once again, Sarah J. Maas did not disappoint! This book was incredible. I loved it so much, and I cannot wait for book three! The thing that I’m most in shock over is that I like Rhysand. Before this novel, I was Rhysand’s biggest hater. Then, about 100 pages in, I realized that he wasn’t that bad. By the end, after suffering through many tragic backstories, I jumped on board the Rhysand train. I mean, how could I not, since they’re mates?! When the Suriel told Feyre that they were mates, I think my heart skipped. When Rhysand said that he’d known for a while, my heart stopped. As if Rhysand hadn’t suffered enough, he had to endure his mate being in love with another man! Every time Rhysand would tell a story, I was on the verge of tears. All of his stories were tragic. Which means he officially fits in with my fictional character type- dark hair, pretty eyes, and a tragic past.

This book started off with a sour note, already testing Feyre and Tamlin’s relationship. On the night of the wedding, all hell breaks loose (er, all Rhys breaks loose). It’s clear from there that the relationship isn’t going to last much longer. After Feyre cuts ties with Tamlin, we explore Rhys and Feyre’s relationship. The biggest turn for me was when she went from calling him “Rhysand” to calling him “Rhys”. The nickname meant that she was becoming comfortable around him, that she was becoming friendly with him. In the end she got VERY friendly with him, even a little racy. There were quite a few racy scenes in this book and each time, my first thought was, “SARAH WHAT IS THIS?!” Needless to say, it was very awkward to read in public. Awkward enough to drop half a star? Kidding, I would never do that to actual queen Sarah J. Maas.

There were some details that seemed random in the first book, that were very important in this book. Most importantly, the painting Feyre did on her drawer. The stars. Those old, faded stars were mentioned many times throughout the book, as everyone realized that it was a sign about Rhys. Speaking of painting, Feyre is painting again! Early in the book, she mentions being “hollowed out” and not being able to paint. Yet, as she learns more about Rhys she has the desire to paint him. So, not only does she paint him, but she paints the rest of the squad as well.

THE SQUAD!!! THE SQUAD IS SO COOL!!! We have Mor, who has the worst parents ever, who is an actual ray of sunshine, who is incredible. She was literally sold to the highest bidder, she was literally abused by her parents, and yet she’s so positive and happy. Then there’s Amren, who is a storm trapped in a human body. More powerful than even Rhys, from a time before he was even a thought. Who knows the kind of limits she has. Cassian, an egotistical jock-type that you can’t help but love because he is fiercely loyal. Azriel, the quiet one who feels the most. He’s so into Mor, but he will never make a move. I just want to see into his head because he’s going to do something crazy next book, I can feel it. Rhys is Rhys. But more powerful than we ever knew, and kinder, and more selfless. And closing up the group is Feyre. A girl who has the powers of all courts. She can manipulate water, fire, shadows, minds, and so much more! Exploring all these powers was incredible through the series! I mean, she learned to winnow! SHE LEARNED TO WINNOW! (She also learned to read like yesssss finally.)

For more details, check out my book talk, coming soon to https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCU2AQ7_IrW7ar3YuuN3VQmQ 🙂

Meeting Sarah J. Maas

Fun fact: Sarah J. Maas is as flawless in person as you think she’d be. Incredibly funny, insanely pretty, closet nerd. You probably didn’t know that last part (or at least I didn’t). She said she was a huge nerd, but I didn’t believe her until she confessed that she has a life-size cardboard cutout of Legolas. The question panel was hilarious, as she took the time to answer each question thoroughly and honestly. She has such a nice stage presence. Before we could go to the signing line, the event runners said that posed pictures behind the table were not allowed. So, I did this…

IMG_9691

Unfortunately, my hand was shaking (BECAUSE ACTUAL QUEEN SARAH J. MAAS IS RIGHT THERE) so my selfie is a little blurry. I asked her to write my favorite quote in my personalized copy, and she did!

IMG_9693

She also complimented my jewelry and was so welcoming and nice. If you have the opportunity to go see her, do it! You’ll probably even get some spoilers for upcoming books… 😉

Leave a Reply

