YA Fiction | Book Review For The Crown by Kiera Cass

Reviewed Book: The Crown by Kiera Cass

Book’s Description: When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

General Review (NO SPOILERS): 1.5/5 stars

Very disappointed with the ending to my favorite series. The beginning of the book was really nice, but the second half of the book was a mess. The plot went everywhere, and it felt jumbled together. Eadlyn didn’t know what she was doing, and neither did Kiera Cass.

Detailed Review (SPOILERS): WHAT KIND OF SICK JOKE IS THIS? Kiera Cass has been my favorite author since the day I read her first book. I have never been disappointed like this before. I feel like Tyra Banks in that one video of her losing it (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6Shpn5WCFs start at 1:38). Obviously, I was for “Team Kile”, so the first half of the book was great. It was all great, until she randomly decides she likes Eikko. It felt very rushed to me, but maybe that’s just because I never saw Eadlyn and Eikko as anything more than friends. When I first started reading, it felt a lot like The Elite, so I had a suspicion that things were going to go awry. However, I did not expect total abandonment of the plot line! Eadlyn swung every which way, and everyone else was stuck along her emotional roller coaster. She dares to compare her relationship with Eikko to a fairytale romance, but that couldn’t be farther from the truth. A fairytale romance is one that everyone aspires to have, not one that leaves people unsatisfied. I’m obviously bitter because she didn’t pick Kile, but the plot line came from nowhere! If there were more signs that she had true feelings for Eikko, then okay. I’d accept it. But this is just a mess. This series is my favorite series of all time, and I’m so disappointed it had to end like this. There is no greater heartbreak than realizing that your favorite author is no longer your favorite author.

The reason I gave this book 1.5 stars, is because there were a few good aspects. Learning that Hale and Ean were secretly a thing made me very happy. Ean had always been distant, willing to live a relatively unhappy life, and it’s because he wasn’t allowed to have the life he wanted. I wish we could’ve had some more insight, but this is Eadlyn’s book, not Hale or Ean’s. That plot twist was worthy of one star. The other half comes from the quality of the lines in this book. There were quite a few funny ones, but even more powerful ones. Kiera Cass is a very good writer, and I’m so sad to see this talent go to waste on a plot line like this. It kills me to write her a negative review, but I expected so much more! Perhaps one day I will reread the book and decide the plot isn’t a complete mess, but it will not be for a while.

2 thoughts on “YA Fiction | Book Review For The Crown by Kiera Cass

  1. coridoesbooks says:

    **Spoilers just because I don’t want to upset anyone!!**

    Very interesting thoughts. First I’ll say, when the Hale/Ean thing came out, I screamed. From joy. I was a bit disappointed that it had to be the guy who liked clothes/fashion, right? Like of course THAT guy had to be gay. I had my suspicions about what the heck Ean was doing, but it still hit me like a freight train! Lowkey hoping for a Hale novella/story. I need more about the story than just what Hale told Eadlyn.

    As for the Eadlyn/Erik thing, I actually have to disagree. I hadn’t read The Heir in a year and Erik was the only one who stood out to me right before I did my reread – I’d actually forgotten Kile’s name. I just remembered Marlee/Carter’s son. Upon rereading it, I knew Erik be the one. (Especially because there’d really be no point in including a character like him if not to be the guy she ends up with.) I think Kile was sort of like the Aspen of this story in a way. He was safe/familiar, and like America, Eadlyn was afraid of anything new/unknown. But when it came down to it, she needed more than just safe.

    Sorry it disappointed you! Nothing worse than the final book in your favorite series disappointing you. 😦

    P.S. That Tyra video is always appropriate. Haha.

    Like

    • daffodilsreads says:

      Interesting point about Eikko being a character. “Especially because there’d really be no point in including a character like him if not to be the guy she ends up with.” I had assumed that it was a bromance of sorts, like how Aspen and America decided they were better off as friends.

      Like

Leave a Reply

